Citrus Floral Ice Bowl


So the chaos has begun, with the party being only two days away I am starting to freak out a little bit.  I still haven’t picked up the turkey and I have an endless list of prep work to do!  However, I think everything will fall into place when the time comes…hopefully.  Good news is that I will have a bunch of recipes to post, chronicling my adventures of creating this Thanksgiving feast just in time for Thanksgiving next Thursday.

So this recipe isn’t exactly edible — I mean I guess you can eat it if you were really hungry…but I don’t recommend it 🙂 I found this in one of my cookbooks and thought it was such a cool concept that I had to share it with you guys.  It’s a really simple way to create something that will WOW your guests and it carries this bright citrus and minty aroma.  (Boys, bear with me on this post) 🙂

Ingredients for Citrus Floral Ice Bowl:

  • 1 orange, thinly sliced 1/4″
  • 1 lime, thinly sliced 1/4″
  • 1 lemon, thinly sliced 1/4″
  • handful of mint leaves
  • handful of flower petals

You can slice the citrus fruit any way you would like, you can do full slices, half slices, use your creativity!

Select two bowls, one about 2 inches smaller than the other.  Place some ice cues at the bottom of the large bowl and set the smaller bowl on top so that the rims of both bowls are level.  Tape the bowls at even intervals as pictured above, this will stabilize the bowls and prevent them from moving.  Slide the slices of fruit and flowers in between the bowls and pour cold water to fill the gap.

Freeze the bowls.  You may have to use a skewer to push the fruit or flowers down between the bowls if they float during freezing. To remove the ice bowl from the molds, remove the tape and pour a little hot water into the small bowl and stand the bottom bowl in hot water.  Carefully wiggle it back and forth until you feel the bowl “pop” out.  As soon as the bowl is released place it in the freezer.

This would be a great bowl to use for ice creams or sorbets.  I am going to use my ice bowl for my fruit salad at the end of dinner — hopefully it will not melt too quickly!  You can also use different herbs if mint is not readily available, rosemary, or thyme would also look really pretty.  The best part is that you can make these bowls far in advance and just store it in the freezer until ready to use.  Hope you guys enjoy this one, even though you can’t eat it, anything you put in this bowl will taste 10 times better solely due to the visually pleasing aesthetic effect 🙂

30 responses to “Citrus Floral Ice Bowl

  1. Gorgeous. And great pics, too. I’m dying to come over for a garden party using your ice bowl.

  2. What a fantastic idea! I’m filing that away for next time I have a special dinner. Little individual bowls would be super-awesome too.
    I’ve seen sorbet presented in a similar way in a high end restaurant before, but they had just taken a giant block of ice and drilled the bowl into the middle of it… not something I plan on trying at home, given that I just don’t have that kind of equipment. This looks like a much simpler way to get the same WOW factor without breaking out the power tools. 🙂

    • Yeah I agree!! Little bowls would be SUPER awesome — that is really cool that a restaurant has served sorbet that way but WHEW what a lot of work that must’ve taken! My fiance would definitely not be happy if I stole his power tools and brought them into my kitchen hahaha 🙂

  3. Stunning! It would be gorgeous also for a summer party but I’m sure it would just melt too quickly for that.

    • Yeah that is the tricky part about ice bowls, how do you keep them frozen? I was thinking of using dry ice but Im not sure how i’d implement it…sigh one more day to brainstorm ideas hahaha thank you for your kind words 🙂

  4. looks fab what a great idea – i hope for you that it doesnt get too hot for the bowl to stay in its shape hehe

    • Thanks betty, yeah me too — I told my friend I’m going to make my guests eat the fruit salad outside in the cold so it melts slower haha j/k 🙂 I think it’ll be okay…i hope!

  5. Beautiful photos! I love the sunlight streaming through the ice bowl. I envy you for having an outdoor place to do your photography. We live in Manhattan with zero sunlight coming into our tiny little apartment so it’s all about lightbulbs for me. Good luck with your party!

    • Thank you dhaleb 🙂 Oh poo, I’ve been to New York a few times and MAN is that place crowded, I can hardly imagine your pain! If only I could send you sunlight in a box hahaha — it is nice to have an open area in my apt, but minus the mosquitoes that bite me on my face while shooting 😦

  6. The photos are beautiful. This is a very lovely and unique idea!!! Love it!!!

  7. What a clever idea. Although I can just imagine it melting in Texas heat so easily, but it’s super pretty while it lasts! I like the suggestions of little bowls too, great entertaining trick.

    I wish I could go to your Thanksgiving feast, I would take all the leftovers. Who am I kidding, there wouldn’t be any!

    • Haha Angie I am praying my bowl doesn’t cause catostrophic damage to my buffet spread. I’m thinking of maybe putting it on some dry ice — or maybe I’ll just make everyone eat fruit salad outside in the cold so it wont melt as fast LOL. I wish you were here too! Haha i think there will be a lot of leftovers…I always make too much food 😦

  8. Gosh, the ice bowl looks so gorgeous! I think it’s prefect for fruits salad deco. You should make a few for the coming party.

  9. Oh yes Joy, I’ve an award for you. Please feel free to drop by to collect the batch from my blog. Cheers.

  10. WOW! So gorgeous and I am everybody will enjoy this party.

  11. You’re making me miss summer! This looks so inviting!

  12. Wow, looks beautiful. Nice touch adding the mint leaves and flower petals 🙂

  13. Hi Joy,

    Fantastic idea–thanks for sharing! When you make the fruit salad, will you provide pictures as well? I’m always trying to freshen up the idea of fruit salad and I need new ideas =)

  14. Mmmm, beautiful photos as usual!! Very refreshing!

  15. That’s so creative. They look so gorgeous. If only they don’t melt!

  16. So cool what a great idea.
    And don’t worry your feast will all come together nicely I hope. Have a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

