Weekly Spread


I completely forgot to post these pictures, I just wanted to share with my readers what I’ve bought this week for produce.  I got all of these ingredients at H-mart, a gigantic Korean based super market in Carrolton, TX.  It is hard to not want to buy everything there!

So far I have used the Lotus Root, Yucca and Ginger — the recipe I will be posting later today will be featuring the 3 types of mushrooms: King Oyster, Shiitake, and Porcini.  The best way to store mushrooms so they do not become dried out or slimy would be in paper bags.  I also keep ginger in a paper bag along with any dried goods.  They keep condensation from occurring but can still maintain proper moisture levels for your produce.

I would also like to thank the following people for giving me these wonderful awards!

Anncoo, thank you for giving me this wonderful award.  I am happy to have met you and thoroughly enjoy frequenting your site for all the wonderful creations you make, especially your cakes!  Everyone please take the time to visit Anncoo from Singapore, one of the most talented food bloggers I know!  I would like to share this award with all of my fellow blogger friends that take the time and effort to post their wonderful creations and sharing it with the world.  You guys rock 🙂

Shelly, thank you for passing this award along, it means so much that you thought of me! Shelly and her partner Brian have a wonderful blog that showcases their culinary experiments in the kitchen from the Big Apple.  She is so talented with her creations in the kitchen and her photography is superb as well, please be sure to check out her site!

I think as a rule for this award you’re suppose to list 7 random facts?  This should be interesting…here it goes:

1. When I eat colored candies, I have to organize them by color and then I eat them in order from least favorite to favorite.

2. When I was 5 years old, I flew out of a car, almost drowned in someone’s pool (my dad saved me), and had my ankle almost severed because some kid crashed into me with his bike.  It was a tough year.

3 . I only own two pairs of flats: my tennis shoes and flip flops, the rest are high heels.  (My mother hates this)

4.  I am really loud.  Like REALLY LOUD.  You will never lose me in a crowd–many friends (and probably strangers) can vouch for me.

5.  I hate sleeping with my feet tucked into the covers.  I always have to have them sticking out or else they overheat. No they really do…

6.  I like to break out in random dance in such places like grocery stores, the mall, book store, out at a bar — it depends on my mood. My dances can range from your usual two step or hip hop, sometimes ballet…and my favorite would be the Flap Jack dance.  My honey becomes very embarassed especially when I break out in random song AND dance.

7.  I hate feet.  Almost as much as I hate cockroaches, but feet are gross.  I don’t like touching people’s feet or vice versa, I don’t like smelling people’s feet — all around just no feet would be great.

Well now that you’ve learned all of my weird-isms, I’d like to pass this award on to the following friends so I can learn a little more about you 🙂

1.  David from Houston Wok– a fellow Houstonian that showcases his wonderful Asian creations at home.

2.  Erin from Fresh365 – a wonderful designer from Boston showcases her talent in photography and love for healthy cuisines on her beautiful blog.

3. Dhale from Dhaleb – a bright and talented blogger from California who takes beautiful pictures in her tiny kitchen in NYC.  You will be amazed at her creations!

4. Mr.P from Delicious Delicious Delicious – a witty and funny guy from the UK who not only showcases his lovely creations at home but includes posts like how to make your own cake stand to hilarious writings on why the term “foodie” is so faux pas.

5.Betty from Betty’s Bites – a delightfully sweet young girl from Liverpool who chronicles her eating adventures through out England as well as her tasty creations at home.

6. Mary from Keep Learning Keep Smiling – originally from Malaysia, Mary makes not only dishes that are soothing to your body and soul but wonderful stories that accompany her healthy creations.

7.Olive from Latest Recipes – a Phillipino food blogger that has a collection of impressive recipes on her site.  She does it all! Anything ranging from seafood to cakes and let’s not forget vidoes too.

24 responses to “Weekly Spread

  1. Joy, thanks very much for the award. Appreciate lots. You made my day…..can smile longer and wider in this freezing cold weather 🙂 I love all the food in the picture….wish I can get them here, esp the banana flower. I learned one new word though….yucca….just ate last week. No one likes it so I ate it all alone…no one to fight with….haha.

  2. Thanks for sharing the pics, and the trick to keeping mushrooms and ginger fresh. i’ll start using the paper bag now.

    Congrats on the awards also! Thanks for being so creative and inspiring.

  3. Awwww… Thanks Joy! I’m very honored and flattered 😀

    And congratulations on your award! Well deserved!!!

  4. Joy- You are soo sweet! Thanks for making my day! I loved hearing all your “weird-isms”. I will have to check out these other blogs too!

  5. tastyeatsathome

    Looks like an awesome bunch of choices from that Korean market! So jealous. I frequent that gigantic Asian market (I forget the name) off of Legacy and 75 in Plano – I’m like a kid in a candy store there. Congrats on your award – and I understand about the colored candies – I have to organize them by color and eat them so that they are eaten in an even manner, so there are never more of any color than another. LOL

    • Yes!! I know what you’re talking about, I use to go there all the time when I lived in Wylie. You should really try out H mart in Carrolton, it is unbelievable haha and they have a lot of korean food stations you can eat at for cheap! and thanks for understanding my weirdisms 🙂 I am glad someone shares some of my quirkiness with me!

  6. Joy, am I supposed to answer the 7 random things now? Not sure… I’m such a newbie to blogging :-/

    • haha you can answer them however/wherever you’d like! I am pretty new to this blogging thing too but I think other people will post the award for an entry and pass it on to other and list their 7 things in the post…I am so excited to see what you come up with!!

  7. WOW JOY!!!Congratulations on your award and Thank you at the same time! It’s a great feeling to know that someone is interested in my rants and or enjoy anything that I cook and I am sure you feel the same way.I will certainly keep it going and post 7 things about me. Nothing wrong w/a little song and dance, I do that too. Love your profile pict.,by the way,photogenic you are.

    • Thanks David!!! You are so kind 🙂 I can’t wait to read about your 7 things and am so happy that I’ve met a fellow cook who is as passionate about food as I am. I am making your banana flower recipe this weekend and I can hardly wait!!!!!

  8. Hi JOy! 🙂

    I enjoyed reading your weird-isms.. I hate feet too

    Thank you sooo much for the award..gosh, you know it made my day..no my whole month..I’m so happy, I feel like I’m floating on air.. or breaking out into song and dance just like you..in private ’cause I’m shy lol:)

  9. Those stuff you got from H-Mart looks amazing. At least I’ve never seen a banana flower before. Does banana have flowers too?! It’s just fun. Can’t wait to see the dish that you cook with those goodies.

  10. Lovely ingredients you have there and congratulations on your awards. You deserve it. 😀

  11. Lucky you, found so many nice cooking ingredients! Now, you can try out more dishes. Btw, congrats on the award.

  12. Thanks so much Joy! I’m tickled pink 🙂

    Your truffles up the top look fantastic too – I love the peppermint stick version, and that you costed them out. I bet loads of people will use your recipe knowing how cheap it was to do!

Leave a Reply

